Established in 2015, Digital Scholarship Ontario (DSO) is a higher education association which promotes interdisciplinary scholarly and pedagogical collaboration across the digital humanities, digital media studies, and the digital arts within and beyond the province.

The Digital Scholarship Ontario website:

• showcases – to colleagues within and beyond Ontario, as well as the wider public – a diverse array of Ontario-based digital scholarship projects;

• promotes upcoming digital scholarship conferences, workshops, public presentations, and other events across Ontario;

• recaps recent digital scholarship events;

• serves as a networking tool for digital scholars across Ontario;

• highlights research partnerships between Ontario universities and universities across Canada and internationally;

• advertises open university positions related to digital scholarship in Ontario;

• connects applicants to digital scholarship programs across the province;

• publicizes new graduate and undergraduate program offerings across Ontario;

• maintains a publically browsable DSO membership roster;

• hosts an annual meeting to which both DSO members and non-members are invited;

• works in partnership with similarly themed organizations.


Membership is free. In order to help connect members with one another, the DSO maintains a publicly browsable membership roster.

Click here to join Digital Scholarship Ontario.



Jason Boyd
Co-director, Centre for Digital Humanities
Ryerson University


David Hutchison
Director, Centre for Digital Humanities
Faculty of Humanities
Brock University

Contributing Editor:

Julia Polyck-O’Neill
PhD Candidate, Interdisciplinary Humanities PhD Program
Faculty of Humanities
Brock University


Steering Committee

The Steering Committee determines the overall policy direction and priorities for Digital Scholarship Ontario. The DSO Steering Committee comprises:

Ali Arya
Associate Professor
School of Information Technology
Carleton University

Dale Askey
Administrative Director
Lewis & Ruth Sherman Centre for Digital Scholarship
McMaster University

Jason Boyd
Centre for Digital Humanities
Ryerson University

Susan Brown
School of English and Theatre Studies
University of Guelph

Robert Gibbs
Jackman Humanities Institute
University of Toronto

David Hutchison
Centre for Digital Humanities
Brock University

Emily Murphy (DSO Graduate Caucus Rep)
PhD Candidate
English Department
Queen’s University

Jennifer Peters (DSO College Rep)
Teaching and Learning Technologies Librarian
Seneca College

Pavlina Radia
Associate Dean
Arts & Sciences
Nipissing University

Paulina Rousseau
Liaison Librarian
University of Toronto Scarborough